“… zero to 60; can it outrun her memory?”

 

 

 

 

 

[It’s crept into my mind often, as of late.

 

This particular memory that’s carved into my brain like a Purple-Heart recipient’s scars.

 

Thus (taking its consistent resurfacing as a sign), I share it with you, dear reader, in the hopes it shall be of some help.]

 

 

 

 

It was well after midnight and I sat four or five houses up-road from her place.

 

I stared purposely through the windshield of my truck.

 

I was going to catch her cheating on me.

 

 

 

See, my gut told me she was being unfaithful.

 

The suspicion writhed, restlessly, deep in my abdomen; twisting and turning like an agitated serpent.

 

My instincts screamed in my head.

 

Sirens to the naivete lashed, like Ulysses, to the mast of my stalwart character.

 

I would heed them – and feed them – all.

 

I was prepared for war.

 

 

 

However, it was then that my strategist’s nature found its way to the surface of my thoughts.

 

Escaping the drowning pool of my vindictive rage, it asked:

 

What goal is to be achieved in this battle?

 

No general deserving of his rank fights for a purpose unworthy of bloodshed.

 

So, Sun Tzu of South Jersey, what exactly is to be gained in this conflict?

 

 

 

I sat dumbstruck.

 

I’d no satisfactory answer to give.

 

Self-righteousness?

 

Smug confirmation of victim-hood?

 

Justified indignation?

 

 

 

Which of those validated my efforts?

 

 

Neither a chest of doubloons nor a suitcase of $20s could buy back the seconds, minutes or (eventually) hours I’d spend attempting to snare her in her duplicitousness.

 

My time was more precious than any fleeting gain I may – or may not – garner by my jealous actions.

 

 

 

Most of all, however, I thought to myself:

 

If I trust her so little…

 

If I am so certain of her faithlessness…

 

If I doubt her honesty so much…

 

Why am I even desirous of her?

 

 

 

Quite frankly, if things have devolved to such a degree that I’m waiting in my vehicle in the middle of the night as if I were on a drug stake-out-

 

I should simply find someone new.

 

Hell, I could throw a rock, at this point, and hit a random woman that I’d trust more than my current paramour.

 

 

 

So I turned the key in the ignition.

 

Put my Rodeo in gear.

 

And drove off into the night.

 

Headed toward the sunrise of a brighter, new day.

 

 

 

 

 

10 Responses to ““… zero to 60; can it outrun her memory?””

  1. […] “… zero to 60; can it outrun her memory?” […]

  2. A man’s natural instinct is to catch her. It is the worst thing a man can do. In this day and age if you do catch her she will play the false DV card and you will be the big loser. I knew my wife was cheating on me six months before she played the card. If I had just left her when my gut told me to, I would be a wealthier man today. This article is spot on advise about how to deal with a cheater – simply walk away when your gut tells you to.

  3. It seems the greatest tragedy of all, is all the time spent…nay…wasted on the undeserving. Newbies learn their lessons slowly and painfully. I see why many advocate ripping off the band-aid. Better to learn at least two lessons at once, rather than gleam half-heartedly, reluctantly, one lesson, if not once, but twice…or three times.

    Wald

    • Wald,

      “Better to learn at least two lessons at once, rather than gleam half-heartedly, reluctantly, one lesson, if not once, but twice…or three times.”

      Flawlessly put.

      A♠

  4. Yeah, I love that song.

    It takes willpower and purpose to walk away from a beautiful woman. (and the damaged ones always seem to be the most beautiful)

    In my youth the excruciatingly overplayed hits of the 80’s like “Faith” and Rick Astley’s “Strong Strong Man” spoke of the strength a man needs to walk away and leave the siren to her devices.

    The young man in love wants things to be a certain way, to the point of madness. The culturally-encouraged madness of the young modern woman turns the dial up to 11.

    • JD,

      “The young man in love wants things to be a certain way, to the point of madness.”

      Truer words were never spoken

      A♠

  5. […] was going to catch her cheating on […]

  6. […] but important posts. The first deals with when to speak and when not to speak on the internet. The second concerns how a man should act when he no longer trusts his […]

  7. This song hits me pretty heavily right now.

    The flawlessly melodic metaphor combined with the country atmosphere I’m surrounded by, produces an extreme momentary ennui.

    Wald

Leave a comment