“… I can see you’re out of aces; for a taste of your whiskey, I’ll give you some advice.”

 

For the lurkers, detractors, and newbies, the ‘sphere’s attitude toward a man’s commitment to a woman is easily misunderstood.

I readily agree:

Commitment, for men, should be very slow in arriving.

But the reasons are deep, if simple.

 

 

See, when a man commits:

He places far more responsibilities upon himself than would otherwise exist.

His output – emotionally and materially – must increase significantly.

In a very real sense:

He hobbles himself.

 

In short, commitment pulls a man down while it raises a woman up.

 

Now, this isn’t to say commitment is without its benefits for men.

I’d be a fool and a liar to claim such.

But it’s crucial for a man to find the right woman.

A woman that will take what he gambles and provide a return for it.

This is also a reason why men should wait until they feel they’ve reached a certain level prior to committing.

 

 

In brief:

Never gamble if you can’t cover your losses.

And never expect the poker table to make you rich.

 

 

 

 

 

Ω

15 Responses to ““… I can see you’re out of aces; for a taste of your whiskey, I’ll give you some advice.””

  1. The Lucky Lothario Says:

    Great choice of lyric, very poignant.
    My reply: “Within his final words, I found an ace that I could keep.”

  2. I can understand your comment about reaching a certain level before committing to a woman.

    I believe I may have truly, and finally, reached that level.

    With my modest amount of experience – my emotional side has caught up to my intellectual side that there are plenty of fish in the sea. If I were to lose my current relationship, I’d be unhappy for sure. But I’d fret not for long, for I know that more fish and tastier fish await.

    With that in mind – I believe I invest closer to the ideal amount for the amount of time that has passed.

    Heck – I am planning break ups on my terms in my head. I never did that before. Do I have to pursue them?

    No – but should conditions warrant – I’m not afraid to go through with them.

    Wald

  3. “Commitment, for men, should be very slow in arriving.”

    The way the red pill woman agenda differs from the red pill man is that women are the gatekeepers of sex and men are the gatekeepers of commitment, so women should keep from squandering sex while working towards obtaining commitment, and men should keep from squandering commitment while working towards obtaining sex.

  4. In another very real sense…what a man commits to is what is going to cause him to die.

    There are some things that cause it to come quicker and some things that cause it to come slower.

    • And realize not all things are worthy of such a great sacrifice.

      Although, some things are.

      If you’ve never read Viktor Frankl’s ‘Man’s Search For Meaning’, I suggest you do so.

      Very soon.

  5. Never gamble if you can’t cover your losses.

    And never expect the poker table to make you rich.

    We may come to the game for wildly different reasons, but we definitely agree on the stakes.

    Remember that the game changes constantly as the night wears on. Be ready to play the next hand. The dealer won’t wait.

    And be certain that you know the rules before sitting down and placing your bet.

  6. Tempest, well said man. Betas squander the commitment and still get no sex.

  7. […] Commitment hobbles men. Related: The decline of man. […]

  8. […] “…I can see you’re out of aces; for a taste of your whiskey, I’ll give you s… (Kenny Rogers – The Gambler) […]

Leave a comment