“Singin’ the blues while the lady cats cry…”

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve said many times:

 

I prefer to date a woman that has a cat.

 

Because it tells me, with startling accuracy, how she’ll treat me in three months and beyond.

 

 

 

Will she feed me regularly?

 

Will she keep me at arm’s length?

 

Will she be affectionate?

 

Will she give me space or will she smother me?

 

Will she care for me when I’m sick?

 

Or will she leave me to fend for myself, only returning when I’m well again?

 

Never have my observations mislead me.

 

Not even once.

 

 

 

It cracks me up that so many men want to reinvent the wheel.

 

When, like Leonardo Da Vinci:

 

I simply observe nature (God’s handiwork), and copy it.

 

And, like Da Vinci, nobody ever seems to figure out my secret.

 

 

 

See, I’ve been given a great many nicknames over the course of my life.

 

My two favorites:

 

“The Jersey Devil” (I’m originally from NJ).

 

And “Outdoor Cat”.

 

The latter having been coined by one of the co-eds that live across the hall.

 

Saying of me:

 

“He’s not a roommate but he’s not really a neighbor.

 

He’s the Outdoor Cat that comes in when he wants food or attention and leaves when he’s full of either.”

 

 

 

It’s not a tough strategy.

 

I have the conversations I want to have; avoid or hiss at those I don’t.

 

I cuddle for a very brief time (if no one is watching) but push away quickly.

 

I enter the room with purpose (“Feed me; give me attention”).

 

And exit as soon as the mood suits me, or I’m sated – whichever comes first.

 

I arrive with semi-regularity; enough to be expected but not enough to be predictable.

 

I meet their needs but I’m careful not to overindulge them.

 

Remembering, most of all, to give them plenty of opportunity to miss me.

 

 

 

I’ve always been of the mind:

 

A wise man is willing to learn from anyone.

 

And has sufficient humility to realize some have figured out the trick long before he did.

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 Responses to ““Singin’ the blues while the lady cats cry…””

  1. I’ve wondered about this, but never dated a woman who owned a cat.

    How did you figure this out? Pattern recognition? Theory? Both?

    Have you ever dated women who owned dogs, and if so, what was the difference?

    __________

    As for me, I went by how the girl treated her family. Works a little better for me, for the age group I mingle with, though. The older a woman, the more detached she is from her family and the more she is encouraged to be so.
    ___________

    You say: “A wise man is willing to learn from anyone.

    And has sufficient humility to realize some have figured out the trick long before he did.”

    I wish more people would humble themselves enough to think that way. They’d be surprised as to what they learn. It’s also why you’re probably so easy to talk to. Even though you’re on a different level than I – there’s no hint of “I’m better than you” at all in your writing.

    Wald

    • “How did you figure this out? Pattern recognition? Theory? Both?”

      Both.

      The best way to learn anything, anything at all is this:

      Completely forgo your ego.

      Just drop it completely.

      Lose yourself totally in the instruction.

      Implement what you’ve learned.

      Then check the results.

      If they don’t speak for themselves, find another teacher.

      If they do, refine what you’ve learned.

      “Even though you’re on a different level than I – there’s no hint of ‘I’m better than you’ at all in your writing.”

      Pleased you say so.

      I’m not better than you.

      I’m wiser; not better.

      Just like you have skills I don’t possess to your degree.

      Stay well.

  2. Enjoying your posts while you are on a roll right now.

    You are still swinging the hardest in the end of your posts…

    And finally learned that the music you choose amplifies your words more.

    Still learning,

    Mimic.

  3. […] “Singin’ the blues while the lady cats cry…” […]

  4. […] “Singin’ the blues while the lady cats cry..” (Stray Cats – Stray Cat Strut) […]

  5. […] To those readers that have been with me for years, it should be guessed instantly that I believe he has it all ※ completely backwards ※. […]

Leave a comment