“Got to keep 100; I’ll say it if I done it, don’t give a fuck ’bout how you feel…”

A♥

 


It’s that time again.

 

The ace card, which means I share a bit about myself.

 

Nothing major, this time.

 

Simply what I’m doing during this situation in which so many of us find ourselves.

 

I live on a little more than two acres in a rural part of the USA, so keep that in mind:

 

1} Shooting – a lot of it, in fact. I set up a range on my property using some old wood, the remnants of a rusty trampoline the previous owners left behind, targets printed by friends at work for free and the empty cans of soda my house-mates and I discard. Admittedly, I’m using a pellet rifle but it’s good practice to keep my skills sharp and hone them further.

 

2} Starting campfires – quite a few of them. Again, I’ve got land and plenty of trees so, instead of watching Netflix or television or endlessly surfing the ‘net, I sit outside. While there, I practice my fire-building skills, watch the fire crackle and gaze at the stars above.

 

3} DDP Yoga – it’s an exercise regimen by a former professional wrestler. It’s for folks of any condition so I’m still at the basic level but it’s a good routine to stay active now that I’ve lost access to my gym.

 

4} The Charles Atlas Bodybuilding Program – I just started this and have no idea how well it works or not but it requires zero equipment and cost me nothing (a friend had the program PDF in his computer archives) so I figure it’s worth a shot.

 

5} Intermittent Fasting – I do the 16/8, meaning seven days a week I don’t eat for 16 hours and then eat only during the remaining 8 hour window. Doesn’t seem to be working as well as I’d like but I’ll give it a little more time then reassess. Regardless, it keeps me from going through supplies as quickly as I otherwise would.

 

6} Reading old books on my used Nook – not much more to say than that. I’m reading less than I should (shooting is too much fun) but I’m doing it, regardless.

 

7} Investigating the Pandemic – recently stopped this. Too few were listening to the facts and it took A LOT of time, so I saw no point. I said all that need be said in a previous post.

 

8} Calling/emailing friends – No man is an island and I’m certainly no exception. I may be an introvert, but I do love people. Scout’s honor.

 

9} Cooking – I’m a mediocre cook at best but I’ll be damned if I eat take-out with any regularity. It’s unhealthy, expensive and I prefer to dine out if not eating at home so paying for take-out just seems senseless to me.

 

10} Writing – Possibly not as much as I should but since I drink and smoke as I do (so I don’t delete everything in a fit of self-loathing and harsh, internal criticism), I’m keeping it to twice a week.

 

Hope all of my dear readers are well,

Charles Spadille

 

 

A♥

8 Responses to ““Got to keep 100; I’ll say it if I done it, don’t give a fuck ’bout how you feel…””

  1. Oh man – haven’t even read the article yet but I immediately recognized the video – I’ve had the full studio session saved for a over a year now.

    Check this one out (more Everlast): https://youtu.be/SyJACy2jOOk

  2. Here’s some recommended reading for your quarantine time, if you like:

    – Any of the articles on the weightrainer.net – the site’s author is considered one of the leading authorities on natural bodybuilding. (Especially recommended: “The Rules of Productive Weight Training for The Drug-Free Trainee”)

    – The “Spiritual Disciplines” series from artofmanliness.com; the site is hit or miss for me, but this series is so good that I printed it off to keep. Has separate articles on Study & Self-Examination, Solitude & Silence (fitting), Simplicity, Fasting, and Gratitude (Service). Highly recommended.

    – The Myth of Sisyphus by Albert Camus; one of the greatest books I’ve ever read, and one that I will certainly be re-reading many times over.

    Full text: http://www2.hawaii.edu/~freeman/courses/phil360/16.%20Myth%20of%20Sisyphus.pdf

  3. Props. DDP helped get Jake the Snake back into the real world.

  4. “I’m on my bullshit drinking with…”

    Started laughing here.

    Pictured you ranting to a crowd of enraptured onlookers, swelling with new faces with each passing minute. Ten hours later and the cops who came by on a quarantine violation complaint have been listening intently for an hour themselves. Even Karen showed up to see what this was all about.

    After you finished, to no small applause, the crowd dispersed with grim faces. To say there was anger in the crowd’s countenance would be the understatement of the millenium. Soon screams punctuated idyllic Oklahoma’s rural milieu. But it was too late; the people knew and the Devil had come to collect his due.

    Wald

    • Wald,

      This easily the best thing I’ve ever read of yours.

      And I’d say that even if it wasn’t about me.

      Scout’s honor.

      Stay well,

      A♠

Leave a comment